# Royal Astronomical Society of Canada - Victoria Centre Minutes of the Annual General Meeting

November 27, 2016 Cedar Hill Golf Course, 1400 Derby Road, Victoria, BC

Chair: Sherry Buttnor, President

## Speaker:

The Secret of Adaptive Optics – Paolo Turri, PhD student in astronomy at the University of Victoria

Since the dawn of optical telescopes, astronomers have been struggling against a serious problem: Earth's atmosphere. The turbulence in the atmosphere degrades the quality of astronomical images by reducing the spatial resolution that they could achieve theoretically. For centuries astronomers had to live with this limitation, until space flight allowed them to put telescopes in orbit, avoiding the issue entirely. But for the larger telescopes here on the ground, the problem persisted. This was until a technical solution was finally found during the Cold War (but kept secret until few decades ago...).

Adaptive optics is a relatively new technology that allows a telescope to "manipulate" the light distorted by the atmosphere and to restore a clear vision of the skies. I will discuss the tricks that adaptive optics uses to achieve the result, as well as some of its scientific accomplishments. I will also tell the story of how we ended up acquiring this technology in astronomy. It's a plot made of secrets, spies and mutually assured destruction.

#### Call to order:

The meeting was called to order by President Sherry Buttnor.

#### **Minutes of 2015 Annual Meeting:**

The minutes of the 2015 general meeting were read.

It was moved and seconded that they be approved. The motion PASSED.

#### **Centre's Annual Report:**

Secretary Leslie Welsh presented the annual report for 2016.

#### **Treasurer's Financial Report:**

Treasurer Bruce Lane presented the financial report for 2016.

Summary: Members' Account: \$10,582

Gaming Account: \$20

#### **National Representative's Report:**

National Representative Lauri Roche was unable to attend the meeting.

#### **RASC Centre Awards**

- Award of Excellence in Astrophotography for his photograph of the Mercury Transit on May 6, 2016
   John McDonald
- <u>Ernie Pfannenschmidt Award in Amateur Telescope Making</u> for his Poncet tracking platform **Jim Stillburn**
- <u>Certificates of Appreciation</u> for their outstanding support and engagement in the role of Person in Charge and Volunteer Coordinator at the 2016 DAO Summer Star Parties— Sherry Buttnor, Chris Purse, Lauri Roche, and Nelson Walker
- <u>Special Award of Excellence</u> for his dedicated support of public outreach at the 2016 DAO Summer Star Parties **David Lee**
- Special Certificate of Appreciation for his continued efforts and successes in supporting RASC members in the access of on-line live-broadcasting of monthly general meetings – Matt Watson
- <u>Silver Star of Appreciation</u> for her remarkable contributions to RASC Victoria Centre **Sherry** Buttnor
- Newton Ball Service Award for outstanding service to RASC members including organizing the Messier Marathons, Astronomy Day at the Royal BC Museum, RASCals Star Parties, and DAO Summer Star Parties – Nelson Walker

#### **Election of Victoria Centre Council Members:**

Nominations were called for from the floor by Past President Nelson Walker.

It was moved and seconded that that the following slate of candidates be elected by acclamation.

### **Executive:**

President – Chris Purse
First Vice-President – Reg Dunkley
Second Vice-President – Deb Crawford
Secretary – Leslie Welsh
Treasurer – Bruce Lane

## Other Positions:

Past President – Sherry Buttnor
National Representative – Nelson Walker
Librarian – Michel Michaud, Diane Bell (Assistant)
Telescopes and School Programs – Sid Sidhu
Public Outreach – Ken Mallory
Skynews Editor – Reg Dunkley
Light Abatement Chair – Dave Robinson
Membership Chair – Chris Purse

Webmaster – Joe Carr
Observing Co-Chairs – Michel Michaud and Jim Stillburn
Systems Administrator – Matt Watson
Technical Committee Chair – Matt Watson
Historian – Bill Almond
DAO/NRC Liaison – James DiFrancesco
University of Victoria Liaison – Alex Schmid
FDAO Liaison – Lauri Roche
Member(s) at Large – David Lee, Li-Anne Skibo, John McDonald, Chris Gainor, Jim Hesser

The motion PASSED.

It was moved that the meeting be adjourned.